• News

    Nobel Prizes show endless possibilities for photonics

    Article posted 25 Nov 2014

    This year's Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano, and Shuji Nakamura, "for the invention of efficient blue LEDs which enabled bright and energy-efficient white light sources." In addition, this year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry was assigned Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell, and W. E. Moerner, "for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy."